Enjoying sunshine in a safe way. Part 1

File 18-06-2017, 22 36 14

Hello, everyone! As the summer goes on, the most hottest topic to discuss becomes summer holiday destinations. It actually doesn’t matter what you’ll choose – city trip, countryside relaxation trip or holiday near the sea, since it is summer – we have to think about the sun protection anyway. Although I can’t imagine the summer without enjoying the sunshine on the beach, I am very careful when it comes to the sun exposure.

I hope there is no need to explain the necessity of the SPF protection all year long, but especially in the summer. I used to ignore SPF protection in order to be tanned more quickly, but after educating myself about sun damaging effect on the skin I’ve changed my bronzing habitudes and skin care routine in general. However I try to balance between my concerns about the damaging effects of the sun exposure and the positive sun effect that it has on our health. The sun is a source of life and our well-being strongly depends on how much sun we get during the year.

So, I’d like to share with you my top body products that I use when I am spending a lot of time in the sun.

Bepanthen Sun Spray FPS 50+ 200ml – the milk spray with a very nice texture, not sticky at all! While it protects from UVA&UVB and is rich in pro-vitamin B5, the spray is also water resistant. It is great for sensitive and problematic skin, since it is hypoallergenic and its formula is paraben-, fragrance- and alcohol-free.

Bepanthen Sun After-Sun Milk 200ml – After-sun milk with a very light texture, but with a very nourishing effect.

First time I’ve heard about Bepanthen products was about 13 years ago, when my daughter was born. Since that time if I am having skin irritation, dry skin or other skin problem – I use one of the Bepanthen products. As my husband jokes – Bepanthen may fix all my problems 🙂 🙂 🙂 And it is actually true! Therefore I was very excited to try Bepanthen sun protection line and it is great! Because of their efficacy and reliability, you will find Bepanthen products in almost every pharmacy throughout Europe, if not – you may order it online.

Another favorite:

File 18-06-2017, 22 34 59

Vichy Idéal Soleil Anti-Sand Milk SPF 50+ 200ml – this body milk is a combination of a lightweight texture with a broad spectrum of UVA and UVB protection. While after applying the milk the skin feels hydrated, it doesn’t leave any oily or sticky effect on the skin and therefore the sand easily brushes off the skin. Because I usually spend the summer near the sandy beaches, this is particularly valuable for me (probably everyone hates the feeling of the mix of cream & sand on their skin). I’ve wrote above that Bepanthen Sun Spray is also non-sticky and it is so, but Vichy Ideal Soleil Anti-Sand Milk is even more non-sticky ;-).

There are so many creams, milks, oils etc. that protect the skin from the sun damaging effect and it is very difficult to choose the one particular product for yourself. Before buying the first product that you see in the store, make a quick check of the qualities you expect from it:

  • do I need a cream for myself, the whole family or a baby?
  • although we all are looking for the best price, make sure that the brand you choose is reliable. The best price/quality I expect from the pharmacy products, especially in the sun protection category
  • your preference of the texture (cream, oil, spray). I’ve read that the cream-based products have a better protection than the other types of sun protection products (like oil or milk). However, I do not believe that it is actually true. If you can explain me why it is so, I would be very grateful to you!
  • protection factor. As my dermatologist told me – there is no real protection in the creams with a factor less then 25. Although I used to buy creams with SPF 30, this year I went for higher SPF 50 in order to protect my skin even more. However don’t be confused – the sunscreens with a higher SPF in theory offer more protection from the sun’s harmful ultraviolet (UV) radiation, but in reality the difference is not that big. For instance, SPF 15 sunscreen blocks 93 percent of UVB radiation, while an SPF 30 and SPF 50 sunscreen blocks nearly 97 and 98 percent accordingly.

Do you have sunscreen favorites for body? Or maybe you have face sunscreen favorites that I am going to discuss in my next post? Share it with me! 😉 Cheers!

 

 

Leave a Reply

