Travel smart – trip planning tips

File 01-05-2017, 07 53 16
Infinity pool – Marina Bay Sands Singapore

I do believe that the best way to relax from the everyday routine is a trip. And it does not matter how far you decide to go – to the countryside, to the closest city, to the other continent or to the desert island. The point is to get away from it all.

  • I suggest you to create a list of countries/ places you’d like to visit. This list you may amend when your preferences changes, the key here is to fix your wish on paper. It really helps, I also use this tip in other areas of my life, for example, for my wardrobe planning for the season 😉
  • Plan ahead. If your dream destination is quite far away, you have to save some money in order to make your dream a reality. Saving only 10% of your income make sense. You may open a saving account, although with current saving rates it is not worth it. 10% is not a lot and it would not impact your spending habits, but in the long run it really helps to save money for your trip.
  • If you have a full-time job, it could be challenging to go on a long trip. Therefore check calendar and combine your holidays with national or public holidays. In this way you’ll get additional days off, but no one would blame on you for not being at work for a long time.
  • When you have saved a sufficient amount of money, decided when you’d like to go – it’s time for buying an airplane tickets (bus, ship, whatever you prefer). Usually buying tickets in advance (6-12 months) is more beneficial for your budget.  Moreover, you’ll have plenty of time to plan your trip in details. My strong believe is that careful planing is 80% of success. Leave 20% to unpredictable circumstances, that could make your trip even more exciting ;-).
  • Book hotel/ apartments or camping – depending on your preferences, type of trip and budget. My favourite is Booking.com and I had find many great offers there. However I have recently booked an absolutely lovely apartment through Airbnb.com in Amsterdam. Therefore, keep your eyes open and evaluate different options.
File 01-05-2017, 19 41 42
Apartment in Amsterdam
  • Discover the most remarkable places to see. In some museums and other popular places the advanced reservation is needed. It would be really frustrating to not getting inside the Louvre museum without prior reservation, if you crossed an ocean in order to see a genuine Mona Lisa by Leonardo da Vinci. Agree? From my experience, I could mention that in London, for instance, many attractions are free of change, but you have to make a reservation in advance. One of my favorites is the Sky Garden – London’s highest public garden. It has a panoramic view of the city and is a great place to visit, have a lunch or a drink there, but you have to book it at least one week in advance.

 

File 01-05-2017, 19 59 37
Sky Garden in London
  • Search for hidden places. There are so many great places to visit that are hidden from the tourist eyes. Ask locals about the best restaurants and other interesting places to see that are not mentioned in your guide. Yes, I forgot to mention that I try to always buy a hardcopy of a pocket guide. I love books more than an online versions, also I have to admit that sometime it is pricy. In Ubud (Bali) we found an absolutely amazing french cuisine restaurant with authentically tastes.  Since I am a French cuisine lover, I enjoyed it very much. Who would imagine that on the opposite side of the world you may find such a great French restaurant !?! 😉
File 01-05-2017, 20 09 52
Bridges Bali restaurant in Ubud

 

I hope my tips would be helpful and my post will inspire you to start planning your next trip! 😉

If you have any questions or more tips to share – feel free to comment! Cheers!!!

8 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Wow!! Thanks for the tips ❤ they are awesome 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. A good article and The click to tweet going to put on my sight . I hope it makes a difference and it will help to make it easier for others to share on that platform, too. –Thanks.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I hope we’ll go there one day (my boyfriend and I) ☺.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Great tips, thanks for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Thank you for the tips! Love them!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

